Madagascar: The Country of Contrasts (a photoblog)

I think I’m having withdrawal. This July marks the first summer I haven’t been in Madagascar in two years. I could respond by laying on my couch–fighting the shakes–and suppressing bad feelings by downing an entire pint of Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food, but instead I’m taking the healthier route: Obsessively going through my thousands of pictures and crying buckets. Ok, just kidding about the bucket part…and crying part, but I was going through my pictures. Then I had a thought (rare, but it happens). I said to myself: “Self, some of these pictures are lovely and shouldn’t be kept to yourself. Share.” I don’t always listen to myself, but sometimes I do–especially when it’s a great idea (rare, but it happens). So, for your viewing pleasure, I’m doing a three-part photo blog of all of my favorite pictures from Madagascar. I do have to give some kudos to Kathrin Dausmann and David Parent, as some of these photos may have been stolen (or lovingly borrowed?). Props, Kathrin and Dave! They are amazing photographers and deserve to have the fruits of their labor shared, too! I do hope you enjoy! Part Uno:

Quintessential Madagascar

Quintessential Madagascar

Brilliant view of our field site from "Phone Hill"

Brilliant view of our field site from “Phone Hill”

Malagasy patriotism

Malagasy patriotism

Hello, little friend!

Hello, little friend!

Peacock Day Gecko (Phelsuma quadriocellata)

Peacock day gecko (Phelsuma quadriocellata)

Sometimes Peacock Day Geckos end up on my favorite hat.

Sometimes peacock day geckos end up on my favorite hat. Maybe he’s a Brewers fan, also?

Capturing the morning dew

Capturing the morning dew

Lookout from the view point

Lookout from the view point

Madagascar has ants, too!

Madagascar has ants, too!

Dwarf lemurs have feet...but they look like hands.

Dwarf lemurs have feet…but they look like hands.

Tiny alien-lemur hands!

Tiny alien-lemur hands!

Stunning display of the color wheel!

The world is on fire!

Marina and her lemur burrito

Marina and her lemur burrito

Wishing it was peach season, but this is just as appealing

Wishing it was peach season, but this is just as appetizing

Arachnophobes, look away!

Arachnophobes, look away!

Watch where you sit down!

Watch where you sit down!

Oh, heeeeey! Diademed sifaka (Propithicus diadema) spying on us during a daily hike.

Oh, heeeeey! Diademed sifaka (Propithecus diadema) spying on us during a daily hike.

Isn't she pretty? This female Carpet chameleon (Furcifer lateralis) was laying eggs when I almost stepped on her!

Isn’t she pretty? This female Carpet chameleon (Furcifer lateralis) was laying eggs when I almost stepped on her!

Malagasy babes, dressed in their best.

Malagasy babes, dressed in their best.

Marina's groupies

Marina’s groupies

Christine and her new grandson, Nekena

Christine and her new grandson, Nekena

Sibree's dwarf lemur (Cheirogaleus sibreei)

Sibree’s dwarf lemur (Cheirogaleus sibreei)

Rene and Jules lugging the oxbox through the forest

Rene and Jules doing a great job lugging research equipment through the forest

Contemplating how to fully capture the realism of the hot sauce bottles

Contemplating how to fully capture the realism of the hot sauce bottles during painting class

Incoming storms cast brilliant light on the forest!

Incoming storms cast brilliant light on the forest!

Until next post! It’s a jungle out there!

Leave a Reply

