Madagascar: A Country of Contrasts III

This is the last post of my three-part photoblog highlighting all of my favorite pictures from the four field seasons I completed in Madagascar. I really hope y’all liked it! As a teaser (and shameless plug!) for some upcoming posts, I have some exciting results from a study I was conducting with the captive colony at the Duke Lemur Center. Human hibernation, here we come!!

Part tres:

Dawwwww!

Dawwwww!

Dave is wondering where the little chameleon went!

Dave is wondering where the little chameleon went!

He's making a run for it!

He’s making a run for it…or showing off by doing pull-ups.

Madagascar scops owl (Otus rutilus) provided nighttime serenades

Madagascar scops owl (Otus rutilus) provided nighttime serenades

This is "Toothpaste". He hung out in my favorite toothbrushing spot.

This is “Toothpaste” hanging out in my favorite toothbrushing spot–the bushes next to my tent.

Momma diademed sifaka. Her baby is hiding on her belly

Momma diademed sifaka. Her baby is hiding on her belly

Here she is!

Here she is!

The little Malagasy boys were in charge of taking care of the babies, while their mothers harvested the produce

The little Malagasy boys were in charge of taking care of the babies, while their mothers harvested the crops

Probably my favorite lemur picture of all time!

Probably my favorite lemur picture of all time!

"Signpost" the chameleon hangs out in the same spot every night to make sure we don't miss a turn on the trail.

“Signpost” the chameleon hangs out in the same spot every night to make sure we don’t miss a turn on the trail.

Kathrin holding an adorable dwarf lemur (that she crocheted). I know, it's hard to tell because it looks so real!

Kathrin holding an adorable dwarf lemur (that she crocheted). It looks so real!

Talking about data and freezing our buns off!

Talking about data and freezing our butts off!

Bobby reaping the rewards of his hard vet work

Bobby reaping the rewards of his hard vet work

Martha and lemur hanging out on the lawn

Martha and lemur sunbathing on the lawn

Lovely!

Lovely!

Dave, the mouse lemur, on his favorite perch

Dave, the mouse lemur, on his favorite perch

Dr. Ed Louis, a world-famous lemur researcher, showing off the newest member of his focal animals--the aye-aye (Daubentonia madagascariensis)

Dr. Ed Louis, a world-famous lemur researcher, showing off the newest member of his focal animals–a young male aye-aye (Daubentonia madagascariensis). These animals are so elusive people almost never see them in the wild!

That white stuff outlining the leaves? Frost!!

That white stuff outlining the leaves? Frost!!

Our hand-washing statement is the victim of chilly night temps

Our hand-washing station is the victim of chilly night temps

Spring is here!

Spring is here…

Rice harvest

…and the rice harvest begins

The plum trees show off their lovely blooms

The plum trees show off their lovely blooms

Moments like this are why I love what I do!

Moments like this are why I love what I do!

I hope you enjoyed the pictures. It was a small collection of the numerous out-of-this-world experiences I was lucky enough to have while completing my dissertation field work in Madagascar. Now let’s hope the data I collected while there will compliment the awesome-ness.

It’s a jungle out there!

Leave a Reply

